I’m Planning on Novelling Up

Hello, folks!

I’m here with exciting news and updates about my writing (yes, finally!) and my health. Let’s start with the latter.

As you know, I had to have my pacemaker changed, but don’t worry I’m doing fine except for the pain here and then (it’s normal, it’s only been a week!). I’m taking more time for myself through sitting still, reading, writing, and meditating.

Speaking of writing, I’ve had a perfect idea for a novella! Yes! This means that I’ll focus on structuring the idea (I’ve had the plot in general!) and writing it. It’s a YA fantasy about a young girl with quite the temper who meets with the Seelie court (or the fairy realm, if you prefer). It’s going to be fun and lovely! Of course, I shall update you regularly on how the writing of the novella goes because it has now become one of my two main projects.

image1

(As a proof, here is the temporary title I am using for my novella – it’s more of a practical use than a real title, but it does the job for now. I’m still brainstorming the right one while I create the outline and research fairies!)

I found two helpful articles on how to write a novella. The first is from The Lady Writer and I think it’s actually the best of the two for it even tells you what are the scenes you need in your outline and it makes use of her 8-stage plot, which I prefer over the uninspiring (in my opinion and experience) 3-act structure. The second is an article from NowNovel, a writing platform I adore, which gives you six tips on writing your novella.

As for my novel project, I don’t even know where or how to start talking about it, but I’ll try. I’ve been stuck for months, as you probably guessed it from my previous posts, but this week I had an epiphany: I’d found the main storyline! So, yesterday, I sat down to write what I thought would save the story… only to find out it was not enough. I’m angry because I can never seem to fly with this particular project. I’m close to giving it up. You see, I have many scenes in mind (others are written) and I have all the characters as well as the ending and beginning, but I cannot for the life of me find the story in it. It’s both frustrating and immensely saddening. However, I keep working hard at it, hoping for a creative breakthrough of some kind. I am making progress, but very slowly… Do you remember the turtle and the hare in the fables of Jean de La Fontaine? The hare takes a break during the race and the turtle, though going at a slow pace, reaches the finish line first, thus winning the race. I like to believe I am the turtle with my novel.

Other than that, I told you I’d give you two book reviews when I’d come back and it’s true: you can expect them in the first week of August!

As for you, do you plan on writing a novella? If so, what is it about? If not, why?

Also, if you have tips on overcoming a major issue in a story (just like with my novel project), please do share them with me!

Thank you for being with me on this crazy but amusing adventure!

Happy writing!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “I’m Planning on Novelling Up

  1. […] I told you a week and a half ago I had an idea for a novella. Whilst it’s still true, this ”novella” of mine seems to be expanding into either […]

Leave a Reply

