At Writer’s Block and Inspiration’s Beck and Call (A Book Review)

Hello, fellow bloggers and readers!

Today’s book review is about Conquering Writer’s Block and Summoning Inspiration: Learn to Nurture a Lifestyle of Creativity by K.M. Weiland. I devoured this book! It took me only two days to read it thanks to its interesting take on those two (difficult) aspects of any writer’s life.

writersblock

It has many good points. I’ll start with the best aspect of this book: it is uplifting, even inspiring to read! Not only does it give you good tips to try and apply, it also tackles an author’s hardest topics: writer’s block and the ever-so-mysterious inspiration.But Miss Weiland approaches these topics with a dose of humor and a good common sense; there’s no burying your head in the sand to try and avoid reality in this book. It’s as comforting as it is a wake-up call. When I finished the book, all I wanted to do was sit down and write (which I did) – I was so motivated by what she had written! I also greatly appreciated that she talked about author’s depression and the highs and lows of the job. These are never easy topics to go over, but I think she did well. Plus, she ends the book on such a positive note, touching the topic of being born to be a writer and embracing it.

The only negative aspect was the lack of examples. We read about what to apply but with no guidance as to how we can actually do this. I would have liked more detailed instructions about it all, if I can say.

The negative does not outweigh all the positive points of this book, so I give it a 4.5 out of 5 rating. The book was excellent and encouraging, yet down-to-earth. But it lacked some good ole’ examples. That’s why I removed a .5. I strongly suggest you all read this, mostly if you’re an author or an aspiring one. It will help you or at least rekindle that passionate flame called writing. It is genuinely a good book you want to read whether or not you’re struggling with writer’s block and summoning inspiration.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

